Issue Date: 2018 MAY, Posted On: 5/17/2018

05172018 Ethan Allen's Farooq Kathwari Receives Ellis Island Medal of Honor
Farooq Kathwari, CEO of Ethan Allen, an interior design company and retailer with 300 design centers in the U.S., receives the Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

DANBURY, Conn. -- Ethan Allen chairman, president and CEO, Farooq Kathwari, was awarded the 2018 Ellis Island Medal of Honor on May 12 at a gala celebration at Ellis Island. 

The award, presented by the Ellis Island Foundation, recognizes "a select group of individuals whose accomplishments in their field and inspired service to our nation are cause for celebration. The Ellis Island Medals of Honor embody the spirit of America in their salute to tolerance, brotherhood, diversity and patriotism. Honorees may be native-born or naturalized, but most importantly, they are individuals who have made it their mission to share their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents, and selfless generosity with those less fortunate."
"It is an honor for me to receive this esteemed award," said Kathwari. "I am a proud American by choice, a citizen of a country that offers equality and freedom of expression. I consider myself very fortunate to have the opportunity to use what I have learned for the benefit of others."
Kathwari serves in numerous capacities on a number of business and nonprofit organizations. He is a member of the Board of Overseers of the International Rescue Committee; a member of the advisory board of the Center for Strategic and International Studies; a member of the Council on Foreign Relations; chairman emeritus of Refugees International; an advisory member of the New York Stock Exchange; co-chairman of the Muslim-Jewish Advisory Council; a director of the Institute for the Study of Diplomacy at Georgetown University; and a member of the International Advisory Council of the United States Institute of Peace. 
Kathwari helped found the Kashmir Study Group and served as a member of the President's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders from 2010 to 2014.  Among his humanitarian recognitions, he has received the Eleanor Roosevelt Val-Kill Medal and the National Human Relations Award from the American Jewish Committee. He has been recognized as an Outstanding American by Choice by the U.S. government, and by Worth magazine as one of the 50 Best CEOs in the United States.
Other recipients of the 2018 Ellis Island Medal of Honor include investor Philip Anschutz; Kay Buck, CEO of the Coalition to Abolish Slavery & Trafficking; John W. Jackson, former CEO of Celgene Corp.; Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Alphonse Fletcher, Jr. University Professor and director of the Hutchins Center for African & African American Research at Harvard University; inventor Dean Kamen; General Joseph Lengyel, 28th chief of the U.S. National Guard Bureau and member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; Bibiji Inderjit Kaur Khalsa, chief religious minister of Sikh Dharma International; Terence Monahan, chief of department, New York City Police Department; actress Rita Moreno; Admiral Michael Rogers, director of the U.S. National Security Agency, and Jeffery Sonnenfeld, Yale School of Medicine's senior associate dean for leadership studies and Lester Crown Professor in the Practice of Management.

Copyright © 2019 Rug News All rights reserved.  | Console Login